Day 1: NaNoWriMo

This is really daunting, It’s the first day and it has already gotten on my nerves :p just kidding. I sit down to write and as soon as I write the first 50 words my brain goes on overdrive and now I’m stuck with about 10 plots all vastly different from each other and I don’t know what to do with them.

I just went ahead with the first idea that came into my head.. I might continue it, I might keep parts of it or I might just chuck the whole thing out. Let’s see how things turn out. Anyways, I decided to go with first person narrative as I wanted to experiment with something new. You’ve probably noticed that I never use first person in my poems or stories.. so this is bound to be fun. Haha!

The following is an excerpt of what I’ve written today, so far so good okay

There’s nothing special about me. I don’t have an incurable disease, I’m not exceptionally talented nor do I have a vampire and a warewolf fighting over me…

At the age of 21, I must be satisfied right? Ideally, I should be looking forward to my future, full of hopes and dreams without any regrets. But, I don’t feel happy or satisfied

What do the philosophers call it? Existentialism? I don’t even know if that describes what I am going through right now. I can’t make sense of what’s going on around me, It just feels purposeless – like walking up a staircase that leads nowhere.

Nobody warns you of this. They don’t tell you that you’ll probably have your mid-life crisis in your 20s, or is it just me?

I spend my days reading books that I will never remember, writing poems that nobody will read, drawing stuff that even I don’t appreciate and for what? I have no idea where all of this is leading, why does anyone do anything?

14 thoughts on “Day 1: NaNoWriMo

  1. Likho aage 😉 Seems a great start.. We write to make the present satisfied.. But when the present is gone and becomes a part of the past, it becomes less relevant. Imagine a relationship problem or a mathematics problem, which seems so important in the present and once solved or avoided, becomes a cake walk 😀 That’s why we all do random stuffs, which are important in the present 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Everyone on this planet is unique… Most people do things for self satisfaction, happiness( because happYness can only be persuaded, 😝if you know what I mean) and a “few” *optimism* people do it for the society in the shade of gaining impression…🙄🙄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

