Recent Reads #1 : The God of Small Things

The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy was a good read, just finished it.

image

Although it has won the Booker prize, it doesn’t meet my expectations. It does have some redeeming qualities though. I really liked the style of “stream of consciousness” that’s carried beautifully throughout the novel, the apparent irony of the society stripped bear of its faΓ§ade of culture and tradition. Most of all, I really appreciate the bold questions that the author puts forward regarding sexuality, love and relationships. Here are a few quotes that I liked :

Man has a subliminal urge to destroy what he can neither subdue nor deify.”

“Each time they parted, they extracted only one small practice from one another.
Tomorrow?
Tomorrow.”

Have you read the book? What’s your review?

16 thoughts on “Recent Reads #1 : The God of Small Things

      1. Help me out here because I can only make sense of it if a couple of assumptions are made – 1. There is a context which I am unaware of. 2. There is a very liberal interpretation of deify.
        Eg. My son has been living an independent life for many years now. I cannot “subdue” him and do not “deify” him. I have no subliminal (or otherwise) urge to destroy him. What aspect of that quote am I not getting?

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Absolutely … until you know better! Movies with prestigious awards also elevate expectations. However, whether books or movies are good or bad is very subjective and dependent on the reader/viewers perspective. Determining a good wine is achieved not by critics, or other recommendations, but by tasting. If you like the taste …. it is good, regardless of the cost or the label. Likewise if you don’t like the taste…. it is not good regardless of the cost or the label. The only critic that is important re books, movies, wines (and a host of other topics) is ourselves.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I read this book for one month in bits and pieces, because I wanted to let it seep in, understand the characters well. Not an impressive read if one wants to complete it in a week or so. But this piece is a perfect example of how a simple story can be told in such a beautiful way.

    One of my best lines from the book is- “He folded his fear into a perfect rose. He held it out in the palm of his hand. She took it from him and put it in her hair.”

    If I can ever write something as good as one page of this book, I will be happy with myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember reading this book about 18 years ago. It was “the book” to read back then. I did not particularly like the book then, and I am not sure I would like it much more now. I thought the strong undercurrent of sexuality was geared to appeal to a western readership, and appeared somewhat forced.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

