La Mode! : #1

Coco Chanel said “Fashion may go out of vogue, but style is eternal.” How true! πŸ™‚

To me, fashion is comfort and being able to exhude confidence through my choice of apparel. It goes without saying that if you have self confidence, you have the ability to carry any dress with Γ©lan. I feel the contrary is also true, a particular dress has the power to give you the extra boost of self confidence you need. So… Man maketh clothes and clothes maketh a man! πŸ˜‰ right?

Fashion is something I am passionate about, so I thought why not write about it, and if possible click a few pictures that represent fashion and culture to me and share it with you guys! What do you say? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “La Mode! : #1

  1. Sorry – we’re on opposite sides of the fence on this one! Fashion is a business motivated dictate by people skilled in esthetics, creativity, fabrics, and marketing. Somebody once commented that fashion is a way in which we can establish our unique being by looking like everybody else! If we feel good by being “in fashion”, are we merely supporting the need for peer approval? Can you not exhude confidence in jeans and tshirt? While I am totally supportive of dressing appropriately (respecting the expectations of others), the fashion industry is no different from the automotive industry – It survives by marketing the latest and greatest. Finally, if we become slaves to fashion, how are we going to perceive those who are not? If wearing a $5000.00 suit makes me feel really good, is it possible that I can be humble when in the company of somebody who has neither the desire nor the resources to be “fashionable”? Just some thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahah let me put it in a single phrase, sometimes, just sometimes, when I wear certain clothes, the song “I’m sexy and I know it” keeps repeating in my head πŸ˜‰ that happens even when I wear a saree! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahah that’s what they think of me right now… I really don’t care, well not anymore. πŸ™‚ I have been criticised for my choice of clothes a lot of times and in the beginning it did hurt and little until I realised that it’s just their opinion, I don’t have to bow down to them πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. About a year ago I had an epiphany: Being a smart and capable mother does NOT mean that I have to look like a smart and capable mother πŸ˜‰ and I started looking at clothes, hairstyles, shoes, etc. differently. Without giving up an iota of comfort, I now look … chic. And yes, it gives me confidence. It’s one of those feedback things: you wear something that you think you look good in, so you wear it with more confidence, which makes you look better, which gets you compliments, which makes you more confident, etc. I’m not sure what you actually wear matters as long as it casues this circle πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “which makes you look better, which gets you compliments, which makes you more confident”. That statement says that peer approval makes you more confident. I would have thought that the ideal state to be in is one where only your own approval mattered and what others thought of you is for them to deal with? Needing peer approval is an ideal that can never be fully achieved simply because you cannot please everybody.

      Like

      1. We live in a society with other humans. feedback is important. I don’t need to please everybody; in fact my clothing isn’t built directly to please anyone. But that doesn’t mean I don’t like compliments.
        For example, it’s well known that smiles and laughter are catching. When you smile, you make other people smile, which make you smile more. Things that would barely be amusing alone can cause whole groups of people to fall on the floor laughing. Yet you wouldn’t claim that someone smiled in order to get peer aproval, would you?

        Like

      2. leftoverrecipes: I understand exactly what you are saying and do not entirely disagree. There is a chasm of a difference between people liking you (figuratively speaking), and you trying to make people like you. Compliments are very good but should we seek them? As for feedback? That is difficult to take constructively because feedback is based on standards and perspectives and is therefore a subjective abstract over which you/we have no control. As for smiling to get approval? How about a job interview? πŸ™‚
        I rather think that we are “on the same page” but perhaps in different books? πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

