A Leaf Out Of The Grammar Nazi’s Manual

image

I came across this picture on Facebook 😉 I really wish I could print it out and stick it on the forehead of every person who commits silly mistakes when it comes to grammar :p

image

Honestly, I think I’ll smash my laptop if I have to read some bs status again, by some person with no knowledge of grammar whatsoever!

Here’s a few hilarious and utterly ridiculous ones I found… Yea google helped me 😉 :p

image

image

image

Are you guys also annoyed by such faulty, incomprehensible statements? Have you come across hilarious ones? 🙂

43 thoughts on “A Leaf Out Of The Grammar Nazi’s Manual

  1. Sadly, we are the minority, when it comes to actually caring about grammar-or my personal crazy-making thing, spelling. Oh my God!! How is it even possible, when spell check exists, to still spell every third word incorrectly?! I often fantasize about deleting people from my FB friends list when they are chronic spelling failures. My number one annoyance, currently, falls between a grammar and spelling error-using “loose” in the place of “lose”. Argh! I just can’t take it! Thanks for your post, it made me giggle…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. In a society where a considerable percentage of the population has Engish as their second language, tolerance makes for a less stressful life. What really annoys me however are people who interchange “learn” and “teach”; “lend” and “borrow”; people who pronounce “ask” as “aks”! It also bothers me that some of the best English I have read recently is on an Indian blog site!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahah :p the last line of your comment … I take that as a compliment 😉 thanku 🙂 and yeah here “pizza” is pronounced as “pijja” and “security” as “Scorty” etc etc (pronounced eckkcetra) 😉 and if I try to correct them, they tell me I’m wrong! Hahah… 🙂

      Like

      1. I had an incident with a woman at work of Chinese origin who was trying to explain something to me ….. and was not succeeding. I said “I’m sorry but I have no idea what you are trying to tell me.” to which she responded “You know what your trouble is? You should learn speak Engrish.” I had no response!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahahaha hilarious! :p Here its not English we speak but Indglish (Indian English) 😉 completely distorted with weird pronunciation which ironically is pronounced as “pro-Noun-siason” 😉 Hahah

        Like

      1. In my best English – that ain’t not never gonna happen. With self publishing, and all the reading facilities on line (blogs, general networking etc), any increase in reading is going create a reciprocal increase in poor use of the language. Even here, the emphasis in schools is in communicating well which is not necessarily equated with correct grammar and sentence structures. In retrospect however, the language has changed significantly over the past few hundred years so I guess this is nothing new.
        Lets learn each other stuff via this blog and than we’ll be better edicated in wreading and riting! If we dont gonna get better edicated like, then we wont no much diffrent will we ……..eh? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know about other languages, but I have to disagree partly :p I see this happening daily in Dutch too. Though the mistakes are different of course. And people just… don’t care, that’s the sad part.

      If you want a Dutch example:
      jou/jouw, whereas ‘jouw’ is a possessive pronoun like ‘your’. But I often see it used as an indirect object..

      Unfortunately, not everyone is motivated to pay attention when they write.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Stopping by to say Hi and to check out your blog.
    Thank you for the like on my recent post also.

    I too, cannot stand when I see misuse of words and phrases. But I also struggle with grammar & sentence structure sometimes. I often find myself searching Google for websites to help with that. 😮

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My pleasure 🙂 I really liked your blog 🙂
      And yeah … Even I struggle with some specific spellings sometimes but we at least make the effort to correct them 🙂 unlike others who argue that they are correct :p 😉
      Thanku for your comment, means a lot 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t run into that one yet. Another one that gets me is the improper use of possessiveness (as in to make something plural) or the lack of using possessiveness altogether. I think these grammar problems equate to the lack of reading. The less proper grammar you see, the less you remember how to use it.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved the quotes – genuine LOL moments! I’m a little more lenient about grammar than I used to be because the idea of grammar rules is really one made up by the Victorians. English is a living language and as such it is shaped by current use – and that usage is always controlled by the common people.
    That said, my bottom line is this: does it communicate what it intended to? In some of your hilarious cases (the baby and aids one being a superb example) a bad typo causes mayhem! So we do have a need for grammar but I’m just acutely aware that we all make gaffs and that what we think is a ‘rule’ was merely invented by a single person who ‘decided’ it should be a rule for no good reason!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yea… That’s true too… But u know there are instances where grammar osny used at all. And this leads to misunderstanding. I believe that if I learn a language, I learn it well and speak it better 🙂

      Like

  5. Given that English Language has its origins in Latin, and given that Latin is a highly structured language (I know – it was a mandatory subject at school!), I think it would be fair to attribute a lot of the rules to Latin. Regardless of its origins however, it can be an extremely precise communicating tool if understood and applied accordingly……….. and therein are the problems. I find myself often analyzing a statement in order to determine the meaning and/or the intent. When reading, time is on my side however, with a spoken dialogue I am often compelled to suggest para-phrasing! This is occasionally met with “What’s that!” ……….. game over at that point! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Aaaah, I love reading this! It made me snigger.
    Personally, I always get really annoyed when I see a silly grammar mistake. Especially when made in the person’s mother tongue. I mean, my grammar isn’t perfect either and I am aware of that, but some mistakes are just.. not done 🙂 If you just think logically, it’s so easy to avoid.

    I especially hate it when there is a mistake made in Dutch (my mother tongue). There’s a simple rule called the “d/t”-rule to conjugate verbs and if they break that rule.. Well… 😀 But people get annoyed when I point it out. They can always correct me if they want though. What’s wrong about learning?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Not everybody has had an opportunity to experience an education that includes detailed language structure and use, and so they communicate as best they can.
    Not everybody is educated, or exposed to education, such that they develop an enquiring mind.
    If they do not understand the concept of an enquiring mind, they are probably not going to see the significance in correcting poor language use after all, they can communicate effectively (from their perspective). While English slang and double negatives make me shiver (“I ain’t not got none.”), I know the individual had a basic education with the resulting emphasis on a practical rather than intellectual lifestyle.
    The danger with these “differences” is that it is so easy to label somebody accordingly and in a negative frame of reference. This simply results in social barriers which are counter productive to our desired “equal” society. Patience and non-judgmental is surely the desired attributes of the critics.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

