The Whole Six Yards!

The Saree – From time immemorial, this six yard wonder has continued to be the first choice of Indian women. Traditional or Modern, Chic or Funky, Elegant or Flirty, A Saree lets you wear your attitude and carry it with panache.

There are sarees that stretch up to nine yards, but now, most of the sarees are just six yards, more compact and easier to wear! 🙂

Little confession here, When I was young, I used to look at my mom and wonder how she managed to walk around and work with that massive piece of cloth wrapped around her! I’d promised myself that I’d never be caught wearing it. 😛 Yeah… As I grew up, I realised promises are meant to be broken 😉 😛

  1. The Modern Take : Sarees are of innumerable types 🙂 This is just one of them. 🙂

 

DSCN0419
This is the saree i wore to college for our “Ethnic Day”. Most of the girls were in saree that day, this is almost 8 months old i guess. 🙂

The feature photo is from the same day, and those gorgeous girls are my classmates 🙂

DSCN0382
This is a modern take, the material is sheer, I just love this saree! 🙂

2. The Traditional Saree : This type of saree is called The “Mysore Silk Saree”, exculsively from Mysore, Karnataka, India 😉 (my town) 😛 FYI : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mysore_silk 🙂

20140221_101239
The colours that you get are bright and beautiful! 🙂 🙂 I opted for a very simple look here, with a small chain, hoop earrings and a tiny nose ring (that was the first time I wore it) 🙂

 

IMG_5203
The good thing about a saree is that you can design your own ‘blouse’ (the top) and this is what i came up with 🙂 I wore this saree to host the “Arts Fest” of my college.

Have you worn a saree? Did you like it?

Tomorrow there’s a Christmas Party at our french class. 🙂 Very excited!! I’ve been waiting for a chance to wear this beautiful dress I bought a year ago, and I just cant wait! 🙂 🙂

12 thoughts on “The Whole Six Yards!

  1. Have I worn a saree (sari to me)…… no. Perhaps being male influenced that decision however, they certainly add an air of mystery to the wearer which is wonderful (in contrast to some minimalist fashions which leave nothing to the imagination). My view on sarees (saris)? May they live forever. Wearing “attitude with panache” ……. it doesn’t get better than that! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wore a saree once as a bridesmaid at my brother’s wedding. I have to admit, it was one of the most comfortable, tasteful wedding outfits I’ve ever worn. What I loved about it was its conformability. There were nine bridesmaids of varying heights and builds, but we could all look great in the sarees. I don’t have the ethnic background with the dress, but I can understand why it’s such a common choice!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have never worn a saree, although I have always been quite taken with the colors, the textiles, and their sweeping elegance. As a child, I had a picture Atlas featuring most of the word’s countries and I loved the section on India that had all this pictures of women dressed in such lovely garments. They really are pieces of art.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey great look…i am always a fan of simple yet elegant sarees…though i find draping it quite tough 😉… and have to wear heavy sarees for indian functions…but i really loved your black saree…you looking great…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My mom has a gorgeous heavily-beaded red saree, and I have always asked the same thing: how does she get around in it?
    I have always wanted one, but my grandmother won’t let me wear one until I’m married. Ahhhh traditions. 🙂
    For now I’ll just be happy with my salwar kameez…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

