Insatiable : Seeking Answers

Sometimes, I feel like I’m desperately searching for some meaning and answer to the questions in my mind through the books I read. Will that search ever end? Will I successfully find my answers when, most of the time, I don’t even know what I’m looking for?

There are times when I just pick up a book and finish reading it quickly. Sometimes even though I’ve finished a particular book, I just keep going back to it. Seeking for and reading out a particular paragraph, dialogue that no matter how hard I try just doesn’t let go.

There are also instances when a single idea, a tiny sentence written among the ocean of words in a book will touch me in such a manner as I have never imagined. The whole world turns upside down and for a moment I feel as though I’ve finally found what I was looking for. But, sometimes the questions just keep increasing…like this is an insatiable hunger.

The only question I’m left with in the end, “Will this ever end? Is it supposed to.?”

So, this is just a quote from The Scarlet Letter (yes, I’ve just finished reading it) that has me writing/thinking so much :

The same dark question often rose into her mind with reference to the whole race of womanhood. Was existence worth accepting even to the happiest among them?

Do you have these moments too? Or do you think this is just weird :p

17 thoughts on “Insatiable : Seeking Answers

  1. Hi. I’ve read that, profound, classic ‘The Scarlet Letter.’ I can’t remember the name of the author. Lawrence Sterne? The heroine was a brave woman, undergoing an unimaginable ordeal. And, yes, we are all in the void searching for meaning.
    Evangeline

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think “weird” may be a little strong and really what is weird, but a label placed as a result of my own perspective. What is weird to me can be creative to others. What I see as rather strange, others will see as fashionable. However, I do see you looking for answers in all the wrong places. Books are in incredible source of inspiration; of perspectives not previously considered; of consequences perhaps not experienced; of simple logic hitherto considered complex. I really question whether books will give you answers however, I can pretty much guarantee that they will give you direction. If you can follow that direction, then the resulting journey will give you answers. To get all the answers is probably delusional because the further along you are on your journey, the more questions are likely to arise, but you will know that you are making progress. You are already ahead of a great proportion of this world’s population simply because you are questioning. Stay with the journey and ………… Bon Voyage! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

      1. You are very welcome, and you (being an artist) may understand this (my personal) analogy:
        In my teens, “the world” was pretty much black and white.
        In my 20’s I started to see shades of greys.
        In my 30’s & 40’s I realised that colours also existed.
        In my 50’s + I realised that “the world” was comprised of an infinite variety of shades. My only task was to choose the ones I liked, and paint my canvas accordingly. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Loved your debate here haha I think we both are walking along the same journey!but not sure if it’s with the same task , am in search of inspiration and strength to attain our inner goals and passion into life And no dear you are not weird just keep calm and going “weird” is the new change πŸ˜‰ and that you are on the right track.. Self discovery is the best task ever!Best of luck girl x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Somebody told me once if I ever thought i had all the answers, Then I hadn’t asked all the questions, and I’ve been trying to prove him /her correct ever since. So far, I’m still coming up with questions, and deciding to do the subjects alphabetically, I don’t think I’m ever going to reach “aardvark”. Lol.

    Liked by 3 people

      1. A picture may well be worth a thousand words, but a “Hmmm :)” in the context of a response here is quite simply intriguing. May be it is just me, but I feel that much is hiding behind that response. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Of course, given that communication is based primarily on body language; secondly on voice inflection; thirdly on actual words used ………. then this medium (only text) can be “troublesome”. ………………… can’t it? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

