To All The Bibliophiles Out There!

image

Now doesn’t that strike a chord! 🙂 😉

21 thoughts on “To All The Bibliophiles Out There!

  1. The following is a poem that I heard in the 70’s and has haunted me ever since!. It was written by a young lady in a US University.
    “Things you didn’t do.”
    Remember the day I borrowed your brand new car and I dented it? I thought you’d kill me, but you didn’t.
    And remember the time I dragged you to the beach, and you said it would rain, and it did? I thought you’d say, “I told you so.” But you didn’t.
    Do you remember the time I flirted with all the guys to make you jealous, and you were? I thought you’d leave me, but you didn’t.
    Do you remember the time I spilled strawberry pie all over your car rug? I thought you’d hit me, but you didn’t.
    And remember the time I forgot to tell you the dance was formal and you showed up in jeans? I thought you’d drop me, but you didn’t.
    Yes, there were lots of things you didn’t do, But you put up with me, and you loved me, and you protected me.
    There were lots of things I wanted to make up to you when you returned from Viet Nam.
    But you didn’t.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It is the strongest message that I have ever heard against procrastination. The Nike logo “Do it now!” says much the same in simpler terms. Many poets have also stressed the importance of today because …………….. can you guarantee a tomorrow?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Then we can conclude that if we cannot predict that there will be a future, but we want try and improve our life, then we are either taking a positive mind set (a blind leap of faith), or we have analysed the situation and determined that there is a good chance that tomorrow will come.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Interesting phrase but, if taken literally ………. no! You may get killed in a traffic accident later today (I would miss you!) …………. but are you going to say all your farewells before leaving your home? Of course not. Perhaps it would be better to say “We can plan for the best, but be aware of the potential for the worst.” i.e. Acknowledging the potential of a traffic accident, you drive carefully, where your seat belt, use public transit ……… etc,

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Nope! Not the way I understand the English Language. There is a chasm of difference between “preparing for the worst” and “being aware of the potential for the worst”. The first implies that you are doing something, the second implies that you have simply evaluated the possibility. I must however concede that my example was very bad as both phrases could equally apply. My apologies. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh boy does this ring a bell! I have made great progress with my reading list over the last couple of years thanks to kindle (I can read several books when on a train or plane) and using Audible for speaking books. Now when I’m washing dishes, ironing clothes or working out on the multigym I can still ‘read’ a book. The result is that I’m reading three times as many books now. However, I have a physical ‘to read’ pile on my desk (this is the immediate ones to read and now my ‘wish list’) and I’ve just counted there are 22 books there. So I’m still not likely to complete my reading list even with all my redoubed efforts!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Gosh that’s a hard one to answer! I’m very much like a dog when it comes to reading – whatever I’m reading now is the thing I MOST look forward to! I’m reading The Book Thief at the moment and thoroughly enjoying it. On my reading list I keep swapping round the book to be on the top! I want to re-read The Hobbit and also Watership Down. But then there’s Gaarder’s The Solitaire Mystery but also the complete Bhagavad Gita! But I’ve been promising myself I’d read Kafka’s The Trial for a long time too…too many I’m looking forward to reading! >.<

        Liked by 1 person

      2. He’s maddening to read but somehow is excellent. In my own life I’m undergoing some difficult trials which have led me to appreciate his story ‘The Metamorphosis’ and his novel ‘The Trial’ much, much more. I have never wished more to appreciate stories less in all my life :-/

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

