This Book Speaks To Me!

I’ve been reading “The Scarlet Letter” by Hawthorne. It’s so unnerving when you find that you can relate better to a fictional character better than a real person. “We read to know we are not alone” – C.S.Lewis

image

These are a few quotes from the book that I loved:

“We’re saved by the smile of a passing stranger and the invisible thread we see between us.”

“She could no longer borrow from the future to help her through the present grief.”

“When an uninstructed multitude attempts to see with its eyes, it is exceedingly apt to be deceived.”

Most of all, I could relate to this:

“Like all other joys, she rejected it as sin. This morbid meddling of conscience with an immaterial matter betokened, it is to be feared, no genuine and steadfast penitence, but something doubtful, something that might be deeply wrong beneath.”

Have you read this book? What’s your review? What are your favourite quotes?

4 thoughts on “This Book Speaks To Me!

  1. I am shamed to say I have never read it (also Tess of the Durebervilles, which is also supposed to be a great book). I just hate reading depressing books, no matter how good they might be…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read Tess but I didn’t actually like it. It had a pessimistic/hopeless/helpless tone that I couldn’t get along with. When compared to it, The Scarlet Letter is very different, not at all depressing…. The ending gives me hope. I’ll not spoil it for you, in case you do decide to read it in the future 🙂 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

