Mixed Signals

Yes or No, sounds simple right? I believe these two words are sufficient to answer any question. But it seems that my mind just can’t decide!

image

Sometimes, I’m so fed up of the constant whatsapp messages, the Facebook notifications, friends calling and college assignments that I can’t hear myself think! I just want to ditch my phone and be alone for a little while.
But, when that happens, it’s not as peaceful or relieving as I expected it to be. I crave to be busy again. Its like my mind’s sending me mixed signals.

I guess it’s a pretty common dilemma. We fantasize about an idea in our mind to such an extent that when it does come true, it falls short. Then why do it in the first place? :/  I guess there’s no answering that question!!

I was trying to daydream, but my mind kept wandering.
– Steven Wright

4 thoughts on “Mixed Signals

  1. I observe the Shabbat (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shabbat). That means that from Friday sunset to Saturday stars out there are no emails, phones, computers, instrumental music (singing is fine), television, or cars.
    Just….quiet*.
    At first I thought it was the most boring thing in the world, but after a week of running around and *doing* so much, it’s wonderful to have a day to be with family and friends, or with a book, or do nothing at all. It did take some getting used to, though 😉

    *except for the squabbling of my 3 kids of course 🙂

    Like

  2. I stumbled upon your site was reading your musings and although this post is a few months old, I am sure you are still pondering social media. I think we will be for the rest of our natural lives!

    In many ways, it is great. Imagine this…I am a half a world away and unlike a book; I am responding to your writings. This is great. The down fall is that it also provides anonymity for bullies and weirdos to carry out behavior that is socially low.

    So it is double-edged sword I guess. You just have to block out what you do not like. And at times just step away and enjoy the world in front of us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

